Lawyers... Interplay's Woes

Pyro Pilots Lounge. For all topics *not* covered in other DBB forums.

Moderators: fliptw, roid

Canuck
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral

Lawyers... Interplay's Woes

Post by Canuck »

Unix
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral

Post by Unix »

I'm no lawyer, so someone with law experience: can you help us out?
Zoop!
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral

Post by Zoop! »

Looks like Interplay is defaulting on debt and failing to hold its part of contracts. Let's just say that for all of the lawsuits where Interplay is being sued, only the most "conservative" numbers are disclosed so that the plantiff's lawyers don't get encouraged (per accounting rules). Interplay could lose all the law suits and actually pay a lot more than what is shown here.

Notable:
* They have $20,000 of receivables on the books. That's after they've written off $2,370,000 that they expect not to collect.
* They are losing money, but their losses are slowing.

If they used to be a great company, you could not tell from this. They're going down. They will be going out of business real soon.
Canuck
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral

Post by Canuck »

I thought Interplay was one half holder of Descent rights.
DCrazy
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni

Post by DCrazy »

Interplay owns the Descent trademark. Parallax Software holds the copyright to Descent 1 and 2, and the rights to develop Descent 4. Outrage owns the copyright for Descent 3. The plan was for Parallax to transfer its development rights to Volition, but that was nixed when THQ bought [V].
Canuck
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral

Post by Canuck »

Ahh Thank-You! :)
woodchip
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor

Post by woodchip »

Just another case of too many fingers in the pie.
Canuck
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral

Post by Canuck »

So wouldn't the rights for developing a Descent 4 become very cheap at the "fire sale", or abandoned altogether?
DCrazy
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni

Post by DCrazy »